Life with Fast Boy

The Challenges of Raising Our ADHD Son

Gratitude via Comparison

Posted by One Tired Mama on July 16, 2007

Trying desperately to focus on getting some work done while listening to Princess scream at Fast Boy at the top of her lungs for the n-teenth time, I gave up and distracted myself with some blog surfing.  I followed Baggage and Bug over to The Open Window and read for a while.  These blogs are written by women who have adopted their children and deal with challenges that make mine look weak.  I found myself amazed at their strength and wishing that I had more of it. 

I do that a lot.  Comparing.  It’s not always healthy.  It’s not always appropriate.  I compare Princess to Fast Boy.  I compare Fast Boy to my own brother.  I compare myself and our family to the life of my divorced friend and her family.  I often wonder how she deals with her two boys at home by herself and how she has to take turns with their father.  Why do I do that?  Maybe it’s just human nature.  I don’t know.

The good news… The result of my comparison is almost always gratitude.  Things could be worse than they are.  Things are not really that bad.  I have a lot to be thankful for.  And even though someone else’s situation may be harder, or just different, I remind myself that I too am a strong woman.  I need to give myself more credit.

P.S.  Remind me of this the next time I’m ripping my hair out of my head due to sheer frustration.

2 Responses to “Gratitude via Comparison”

  1. Maggie said

    Thanks for stopping by The OW.

    You know, I don’t think anyone’s issues are better or worse, easier or more difficult. We’re all given our set of challenges to rise to (and sometimes get knocked over by). My own personal “fast boy” is putting me through the wringer right now, but I’m hoping it will ease up a bit in time.

  2. baggage said

    What Maggie said.

    I constantly wish I had more strength and patience.

Leave a Reply

 
